Simons Fellowship in Computational Neuroscience


Simons Fellowship in Computational Neuroscience

Deadline: January 7, 2013


Award Description

Previously sponsored by the Yale University School of Medicine, the Simons Fellowship in Computational Neuroscience will select highly qualified college graduates to participate in cutting-edge autism research at the Marcus Autism Center. The Marcus Autism Center is a leading institution for clinical care and clinical research of autism and related social disabilities. It sits at the center of a close collaboration between the Emory University School of Medicine and Children’s Healthcare of Atlanta (CHOA). Successful applicants will engage in a 2-year training program aimed at the development of computational tools for early diagnosis and phenotypic characterization of infants at risk for autism.


The selected Fellows will integrate computational strategies with clinical research goals--developing methods for the analysis of visual scanning and eye-tracking data, computational models of visual salience, and data visualization techniques--all with the aim of advancing understanding of autism and efforts at early diagnosis. This work will be directly informed by interacting with children with autism and their families.


Successful applicants will be directly mentored by the program directors and will participate in classes, weekly seminars, and meetings as an integral part of an active community of clinicians and research scientists.


Application Information

Application materials and additional information can be found at Further information about the Marcus Autism Center can also be found at


Eligibility Requirements

Eligible are college graduates who will have received a bachelor's degree by June of 2013. While candidates are expected to have experience with computer programming and an interest in clinical research goals, applicants from a wide variety of backgrounds are encouraged.


Sponsor Institution: Marcus Autism Center, Children’s Healthcare of Atlanta, and Emory University School of Medicine.

Program Directors: Ami Klin and Warren Jones

Term of Award: 2 years

Submission Deadline: January 7, 2013

U.S. Citizenship: Not Required